Wildfires Are Scary

I recall an even scarier fire from my childhood. We were near Ingleside, Texas. The fire was scarier because it was in brush so thick a man couldn’t walk through it. The flames were huge.

The fire was not quite to the road we were driving down. A man was watering his house with a garden hose. As young as I was, I saw that was futile. I announced that the road would stop the fire. My father disagreed, saying that the fire would jump the road. As an adult, I realize that he was right.

We drove on, and I have no idea how the fire was stopped.

Leave a Reply

