Hollywood Figure, John Milius

I don’t follow Hollywood or celebrity culture, so I must confess I never heard of John Milius before I read the linked article.  But I’ve heard of many of his movies and seen a number of them.  And now that I’ve read the article, I think I’ve missed something.  He’s an interesting figure and wrote the scripts for Dirty Harry, Jaws, Apocalypse Now, Jeremiah Johnson, and The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean.  To give the flavor of the linked article, I offer this anecdote from the beginning of his career:

The B-movie studio American International Pictures hired Miliius as a writer. His first script was a remake of the Dirty Dozen called The Devil’s Eight (1969)—eight, because AIP couldn’t afford 12 actors. Next George Hamilton asked him to script a biopic of daredevil Evel Kenievel (1971). The subject of compensation arose. What do you want? Hamilton asked. Milius answered: “I want girls, gold, and guns.”

Leave a Reply

