The Part of the Brain That Reads Paper Is Different From That Reading Electronic Media

People reading electronic media tend to skip around the screen, whereas reading printed material facilitates deeper, more focused reading.  So says the Washington Post‘s Mike Rosenwald.

I am inclined to believe this, because I have experienced it.  When I get a revised contract from opposing counsel, if the changes are significant, I can’t effectively review them on the screen.  I need to print the document out to be able to study the changes carefully in the context of the overall document.  I have ascribed my need for a tangible document as a generational problem, thinking that younger lawyers would be better able to scrutinize screen documents.  Maybe not.

 

Leave a Reply

